Highlights from the 2017-18 Academy Awards!

The 2017-2018 Academy and Prep Academy season concluded with the annual Academy Awards ceremony on Friday, May 18th. Families and students from both programs were in attendance to celebrate the student's achievements from the past year through a dinner and show.


Throughout the night, students and faculty performed numbers from the APAA's past 6 seasons. Highlights include:
  • "It Sucks to be Me" from Avenue Q performed by the Faculty (from the 2012-2013 Season)

  • "Greased Lightning" from Grease performed by the Academy Students (from the 2015-2016 Season)

  •  "I Won't Grow Up" from Peter Pan, Jr performed by the Prep Students  (from the 2013-2014 Season)

  • "Joseph Megamix" from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat performed by the Academy and Prep Academy Students (from the 2016-2017 Season)

Parents were also given a preview of the Academy's upcoming season through the riveting performances from the Faculty, High School Senior Kiran Bursenos, the Prep Academy, and the entire group of students. The APAA season for next year includes the following:

  • Annie Jr - December 7-8 and 14-15, 2018 at the APAA Event Center

  • Once on this Island, Jr - February 1-3 and 7-10, 2019 at the Magnetic Theatre

  •  Sweeney Todd, School Edition - February 15-17 and 22-24, 2019 at the Magnetic Theatre

  • Little Mermaid Jr - May TBD, 2019 at Ira B. Jones Elementary School

  • Disney's Newsies - June 14-15, 2019 at the Diana Wortham Theatre

Students were given awards throughout the night for their outstanding achievements in their classes which were determined by the faculty. The awards given out were the following: 

  • Outstanding Achievement in Dance: Jade Smith (Prep) and Jenna MacIntyre (Academy)

  • Outstanding Achievement in Acting: Ivy Voloshin (Prep) and Riley Oswald (Academy)

  • Outstanding Achievement in Music: Malachi Mena (Prep) and Abby Russ (Academy)

  • Outstanding Progress: Cammy Vance (Prep) and Mia Sander (Academy)

  • Prep Academy All-Star: Caroline Roth

  • Academy All-Star: Amie Cooke

  • Extra Extra Award: Annabel Pulman

Awards were also given out in recognition to the Academy students for their performances throughout the past season. Roles that could be nominated were from The Wizard of Oz - YPE (June 2017), Madagascar Jr. (November 2017) and Chorus Line School Edition (February 2018). And the winners were:

  • Best Supporting Actor: Hogan McLamb as Mike in A Chorus Line

  • Best Supporting Actress: Teagan Hill, as Kristine in A Chorus Line

  • Best Leading Actor: Kenyon Parker as King Julian in Madagascar

  • Best Leading Actress: Charlene Powers as Diana in A Chorus Line

But the fun doesn't end at the Awards! There is still one more chance to see these students as well as actors from the community in Disney and Cameron MacIntosh's Mary Poppins, Jr at Diana Wortham Theatre on June 9th and 10th. Tickets can be found on our website or by visiting Diana Wortham's box office. We hope to see everyone there!